Going dotty – Generating a Filename containing a parameter value in SQL*Plus

As I have alluded to previously, I was not born in the UK.
Nope, my parents decided to up-sticks and move from London all the way to the
other side of the world, namely Auckland.
Then they had me. Then they came back.
To this day, they refuse to comment on whether these two events were related.

I went back to New Zealand a few years ago.
As I wandered around places that I hadn’t seen since I was five, it was strange how memories that I had forgotten came flooding back.
That last sentence doesn’t make much sense. It’s probably more accurate to say that memories I hadn’t thought about for years came flooding back.

I recently remembered something else I once knew, and then forgot – namely how to generate a SQL*Plus file name which includes a parameter value.

The scenario

I’ve got a script that lists all of the employees in a given department :

accept deptno prompt 'Enter Department ID : '
spool department.lis

select first_name, last_name
from hr.employees
where department_id = &deptno
order by employee_id
/

spool off

Now, rather than it just creating a file called department.lis, I want to create a file that includes the department number I’m querying.

Obvious…but wrong

You might think the following is a reasonable attempt to do this :

accept deptno prompt 'Enter Department ID : '
spool department_&deptno.lis

select first_name, last_name
from hr.employees
where department_id = &&deptno
order by employee_id
/

spool off

Unfortunately, SQL*Plus insists on being obtuse and outputting the following file :

ls
department_10lis.lst

It is at this point that a colleague came to the rescue ( thanks William)…

Going dotty

This will do the job…

accept deptno prompt 'Enter Department ID : '

spool department_&deptno..lis

select first_name, last_name
from hr.employees
where department_id = &deptno
order by employee_id
/

spool off

Run this and we not only get :

Enter Department ID : 10
old   3: where department_id = &deptno
new   3: where department_id = 10

FIRST_NAME           LAST_NAME
-------------------- -------------------------
Jennifer             Whalen

SQL> 

…we get a file, appropriately named :

ls
department_10.lis

The magic here is that the “.” character delimits the variable substitution.
Just to prove the point, we can do the same with a positional parameter :

set verify off

spool department_&1..lis

select first_name, last_name
from hr.employees
where department_id = &1
order by employee_id
/

spool off

…run this and we get :

SQL> @position_param.sql 10

FIRST_NAME           LAST_NAME
-------------------- -------------------------
Jennifer             Whalen

SQL> 

…and the appropriate file…

ls
department_10.lis

On that note, I’m off to the pub. Now, where did I leave my keys ?

Leave a Reply

